Bon Voyage!

Well it’s about time I graduate. Only took me awhile (two years) to figure out what I wanted to major in, but I finally discovered where my interests lay.  I initially came to UNT with the intent to major in communication designs, and then after learning more about the major I changed my mind real quick. After a couple semesters of floating around and focusing on core classes I chose to major in journalism and stuck with it. The further I got in the program the more I felt comfortable and at ease with my decision because I liked writing and thinking creatively.

Fast forward to the future and here I am now counting down the days till I graduate. With graduation around the corner I am excited and nervous at the same time. It’s hard to believe that the past four years have flown by and now I’ll be graduating in less than a week. I’m proud to say that I’m the first one in my family to attend college, let alone graduate. I can’t wait for my parents to see me walk across the stage and show them how far I’ve come.

I’ve always enjoyed writing and social media, but it didn’t really sink in as to how much I am passionate about them until I was at a job interview discussing why I should have the position I was applying for. I love public relations. I love that technology is always developing and changing the industry constantly. I like being the first to know about new social media tools and trends.

Even though I know exactly what I want to do when I graduate, I’m unsure about where I want to be. As far as life plans go after graduation, everything is up in the air. My parents want me to move to San Antonio so I can be close to them. However, I would prefer to stay in Dallas. I’ve come to love the area and there’s a lot more to do there than in San Antonio. But then again, all my close friends live in my hometown and they are always telling me how much they want me to come back, so now I’m faced with the difficult decision of determining what’s the right thing to do.

Considering all things, I am so blessed to have a great college experience and have wonderful professors who have taught me so much and prepared me for the real world. All the hard work and long hours of studying have finally paid off. I’m so thankful for all the friends I’ve made in my classes and hope to stay in touch with them for years to come. I’ve also had an amazing internship this semester and met so many people who I relied on to give me great advice and steer me in the right direction. I’m grateful for my time at UNT and I am ready for a new beginning.

 

Leave a Reply

